Updates Per Peace Table


Background: The GPH and RPMP/RPA/ABB Peace Process


On February 2, 1996, the Rebolusyonaryong Partido ng Manggagawa ng Pilipinas (RPMP) was formed with members of the breakaway Negros Regional Party Committee of the New People's Army as its initial members.  After more than two months, the Revolutionary Proletarian Army (RPA), its military arm, announced its organization in a press conference. The following year, the Metro Manila-based urban guerilla unit Alex Boncayao Brigade (ABB) led by Nilo Dela Cruz joined the RPA.  The other leaders of the RPMP/RPA/ABB alliance included Arturo Tabara, his wife Veronica Tabara and Stephen Paduano.

The RPMP/RPA/ABB started engaging the Government of the Philippines (GPH) in peace negotiations in December 1999. A year after, on December 6, 2000, the GPH-RPMP/RPA/ABB Peace Agreement was signed. 

Two factions loomed in the RPMP/RPA/ABB Central Committee in 2007. This are the Tabara-Paduano Group (led by Veronica Tabara and Stephen Paduano) and the Nilo Dela Cruz Group. As a result of the leadership conflict, clouts have been established by the two factions. Dela Cruz assumed the support of RPA/ABB in Luzon and Iloilo province while Paduano has the whole membership of RPA/ABB in Negros Occidental.  RPA/ABB members in Panay, Mindanao, Aklan and Antique have mixed affiliations.

Currently, the GPH are negotiating with both RPMP/RPA/ABB groups for a closure agreement to include development projects, confidence building measures, disposition of arms and forces and their transformation into a legal, unarmed, socio-economic organization.

(as of 31 October 2011)